VMware Cloud Community
RPHarris
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

ESXi does not recognize cd/dvd on HP DL380

I'm new to the hypervisor and really need some advice regarding a DL 380 I'm setting up as QA box. After installing ESXi 3.5 I created the vm's I needed and proceeded to boot one of the vm's, but was suprised to see the server does not see the CD drive? I guess this would not be as suprising if it was a custom white box build, but an HP DL380, only one of the most common servers in the world?

Does anyone have any advice or suggestions about what a fix is for this.

Thanks

Robert

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
HughBorg707
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Also, once you can convert many of your applications and or OS installs to ISO format, you can just use your Infrastructure Manager client and connect an ISO to whatever VM you need to have a "CDROM" inserted in to.

For instance, if you're going to install Citrix and you have an ISO copy locally or on your network, you can simply start the VM and then click on "connect/disconnect CD devices" and point it to your ISO image. VMWare will then mount the "CD" to the VM and it will be accessible just like a normal CDROM would.

At that point your local CDROM on the ESX box really isn't used for much anymore outside of upgrades to ESX 3.5, and even that is done remotely now for ESX 4.

Hope this helps

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Lightbulb
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

Are you using 'host device" passthru in which case the VM should see the CD drive of the ESXi Host?

Or "Client device" in which case the VM should see a CD or ISO passed to it from the client connecting?

See attached pic

HughBorg707
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Which "server" are you referring to is not seeing the CDROM drive? (the VM or the ESXi server?)

HughBorg707
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution