VMware Cloud Community
StuartLittle
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi Networking & vSwitch Question

Hello all,

I am very new to VMware and over the last few months been getting up to speed on the ESXi product. I am now familar with the basic management and implementation of ESXi and creating VM's etc but I am unclear on how I can achieve my networking goal. (I know these questions get asked all the time of the forums so I apologise if this is repeating previous posts ... I can't find exact answers traling/searching the forums)

Let me explain our scenario:

We plan to purchase a Dell PowerEdge 1950 III server with ESXi embedded. The server spec is as follows:

2 x Xeon Quad-Core Cpu's

16GB Ram

4 x 73GB SAS 15K disk (RAID5 or RAID10 still undecided)

4 x Gigabit Nics

We plan to co-locate this server in a data centre and supply our customers Virtual Windows 2003/2008 & Linux platforms for them to use on a monthly subscription etc. We would expect just to have 4 different customers with 2 VM's each running on the server (so 8 VM's in total). Nothing heavy in regards to I/O activity etc.

My question regarding networking is a) How or what is the best method to isolate each customer's VM network from each other's so there is no crossover of network traffic (so they can't see another customers server/network) ... but still get external access to the internet via our datacentre IP/Firewall/Gateay and b) how do we provide remote access to each customer network if they all come through our 1 public IP provided by the data center ... is this possible? (we actually have 5 public IPs i think).

My initial thoughts were that I could assign each Physical NIC a public IP that connects to it's own vSwitch that has each customers VM's running on it:

e.g.

Public IP Number 1 > vmnic0 > vSwitch0 > VM Port Group containing 2 x VM's for Customer 1

Public IP Number 2 > vmnic1 > vSwitch1 > VM Port Group containing 2 x VM's for Customer 2

etc etc.