VMware Cloud Community
NFeeling
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi Disk

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to vmware ESXi, I'm ttrying to create a 2 node cluster for SQL 2005 i n the same physical ESXi server. How can I share one or more disks between the 2 VMs?

In the SCSI controller (SCSI bus sharing) option I saw the option virtual "Virtual disks can be shared between virtual machines on the same server", I selected that option for both servers and map both VMs to the same disk, but this doesn't work!!! Smiley Happy does anyone knows what do I need to do to make this possible?

0 Kudos
7 Replies
3sh
Contributor
Contributor

tell us more about your setup (drives, etc)

0 Kudos
Sanjana
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Hi NFeeling,

Welcome to the forums.

>disk, but this doesn't work!!!

What error message do you see?

Also, what disks (and how many) are you trying to share between the two instances of sql 2005?

--sanjana

0 Kudos
NFeeling
Contributor
Contributor

Because I don't know how to create a Virtual disk without using a VM, I did the following:

The steps:

- I created a VM without disks.

- After VM creation I went to the VM properties and add 4 new disks.

- I deleted the VM from inventory.

- I went to VM folder and moved the disks (.vmdk) to a folder that I created named SQLStorage.

- I deleted the VM folder. Now I have the disks in the SQLStorage folder.

- Then I went to the SQL nodes VMs (SQLNode01 and 02, already have OS installed and already are members of a domain), and changed the properties of the SCSI Bus Sharing to "Virtual". I did that on both nodes.

- Started both nodes to check if they can startup correctly, and they did. Then shutdown both nodes.

- After shutdown, I added the same disks that were in SQLStorage folder to each SQL Node.

After I start the first node I get the folowing error: