VMware Cloud Community
malarie
Contributor
Contributor

ESXi 4.0: Raid Array not detected.

Good Day,

I have an HP XW4600 with 2X1TB disks mounted as a hardware RAID 1 array that i created in the BIOS. When I install ESXi4.0, it will detect my 2 disks, instead of my RAID1 array. Is there anything I can do to make sure ESXi sees my RAID Array?

Thanks. I have check the Hardware Compatibility guide, Did not see my model, but im not even sure i checked the right thing. I am quite new to vmware technologies.

Thanks

0 Kudos
8 Replies
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal

You array controller is a software RAID device and requires a software component to provide the RAID functionality. ESXi requires a Hardware RAID device. You either need to find a hardware based controller from the HCL list or you can use the second disk to host copies of the VM's. There are scripts that can help. ghettoVCBdoes a great job of cloning running machines. You can use the VMware Standalone Converter tool to make copies although it is a manual process.

-- David -- VMware Communities Moderator
0 Kudos
malarie
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for the reply,

Unfortunately,this is chineese to me. Smiley Sad

What is a Hardware based Controller? Is it a PCI Card? Do I have to change the motherboard?

0 Kudos
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal

If you need RAID then you will need to find a hardware RAID card for your machine. You would need something like the HP Smart Array SA-E200 with the BBWC module. If you can get by without raid use the disks as is and copy the virtual machines from one disk to the other on a regular basis.

You may be able to find other hardware raid cards that work on your machine.

0 Kudos
malarie
Contributor
Contributor

Is this card compatible? (sorry i dont undertand tghis hardware compatibility guide)

Adaptec Serial ATA II RAID 1420SA - Storage controller (RAID) - 4 Channel - SATA-300 low profile - 300 MBps - RAID 0, 1, 10, JBOD - PCI-X

[