VMware Cloud Community
sandbag
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

ESXi 3.5 Newbie question

I'm new to ESxi so please go easy on me. I have the visor (3.5) loaded and it's running great. I added remote NFS datastore it mounted without issue. The datastore source is a Freenas Server running the latest install (0.69). I have the NFS setup correctly so I think because the ESXi saw it and mounted it without error. But my problem is when I create a VM machine in that datastore I get an error message: Unable to access file and the Event log says: Failed to create virtual disk /vmfs/volumes/ Blah, Blah , Blah.

I see where it trying to access the Default vmfs vol, but I'm not trying to create it there......

I can browse the NFS datastore - creating and deleting files and folders so I know my permissions are set right on the NFS mount. Can someone point me in the right direction???

Thanks

Noob

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
TiagoAviz
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Sandbag,

I had the same issue. Check if your freenas server has the exported directory in it with permissions for the ESXi to write in it.

On my SLES10 exported path, I just chmod 777 folder and it worked right away.

Also, it's interesting to add the no_root_squash option onto your /etc/exports file. Don't know how freenas works, but this should help you out. Smiley Happy

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
BThunderW
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

if you ssh into your ESXi server and 'touch /vmfs/volumes/<nfsdatastore/test' it works fine?

Cheers,

Tom

0 Kudos
sandbag
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Ok, I SSH to my ESXi....(and yes, even I'm surprised that I was able to figure out that:^0 ).

after I logged in as root, at the # I typed: touch /vmfs/volumes/b53cb948-566brdfc/Test1/Test1.vmdk and I get back "No such file or directory

I did just the touch /vmfs/volumes/b53cb948-566brdfc/Test1 and I get back nothing but the prompt.