VMware Cloud Community
kristiaan_d
Contributor
Contributor

ESXI Server Update? little bit of Noob help.

Hi Everyone,

firstly i would like to appologize if this thread is in the wrong section.

Anyhow, im a bit of a beginner to VMware and have like the rest of you guys on here been stung by the Vmware ESXI 3.5 U2 issue. i have downloaded the express patch. but im a bit stuck on how to update the server with it. To be honest there is so much documentation for this system i do not know where to start.( http://www.vmware.com/support/pubs/vi_pages/vi_pubs_35u2_3i_e.html )

would it be better to re-download the newer ISO that has been released and re run the setup, OR should i install the express patch?

if i should be using the patch, can someone help me out on how i apply it ? as all i have is a .zip file with no obvious means of installing it.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
nick_couchman
Immortal
Immortal

The easiest thing to do is to install the VI Updater software on the same machine as you have the VI Client installed (it's one of the options when you install the VI Client) and then launch that software and use it to update your ESX 3.5 U2 hosts directly. This worked perfectly for all 5 of the ESXi hosts that I had.

0 Kudos
kristiaan_d
Contributor
Contributor

hi nick,

thanks for the reply, when i looked at getting VMware Update Manager, VMwares site wanted me to purchase a licence for it. is this the case as there is no way i can get our company to sign off the cost of this software when the intial ESXi server was free. here is the link i found to the update manager software. (http://www.vmware.com/products/vi/updatemanager.html )

i know you can trial the software but once that finishes, as i say im not going to be able to get someone to sign off this cost, especially after the big messup they just made.

0 Kudos
nick_couchman
Immortal
Immortal