VMware Cloud Community
dbaskin
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Big problems after upgrade from ESXi U2 to U3

So I am fairly new to ESXi, only a few months running this server.

edit I think the problem was this. When I created VM1 and opened the old V disk from the old DIR it was only a single file and it opened fine. When I created VM2 and opened the old disk from the old DIR it couldn't find the other files because it looked in the new DIR. DOH! and then after I moved all of the disk files to the new dir then it didn't work and gave me the parent has changed message. /edit

So, it all started when I tried to use the VMware Infrastructure Update app on my workstation to update my ESXi server. After the update I rebooted and the server never came back up. I thought, my setup is basic I will just re-create a new USB drive with the current U3 and boot off that and re-setup ESXi.

So I did that and was able to create a new VM for server 1 and use my old virtual disk from server 1 and it booted up and worked just fine.

Then I created a new VM for server 2 and used my old virtual disk from server 2 and when it booted up it was not the right server... but it was the only virtual hard disk I could pick in that DIR. After I looked again using the datastore browser I noticed snapshot files. So I had booted into an old snapshot, or I guess the base snapshot. But all my data is in the newest 2 snapshot files. Which I can't mount as a virtual hard drive.

I got the error "..... reason: the parent virtual disk has been modified since the child was created."

So where I am now is I have booted more than once the base snapshot without the current snapshots and they don't seem to want to hook up after that base one was booted and changed.

Is there anyway for me to get the data from this mess?

Any and all help and input is greatly apprciated!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
kooltechies
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Hi,