VMware Cloud Community
Darktan
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Adding multiple hosts to shared storage

Greetings....

I apologize if this has been answered. It's late and I can't seem to figure it out or find anything in my searches through the forums. It being late and me being tired means I might have missed something.

I have 2 PE1950's running ESXi and both attached to the same LUN on our SAN. One of the 1950's was created with the wrong RAID config and has to be recreated. This is fine since it's just a backup of the other host that's really doing all the work. The problem I'm running into is after I reinstalled ESXi to the system I need to reattach the SAN space. When I click 'Add Storage' and go through the motions, it wants to reformat the storage. This of course is a bad thing. Am I missing something? Do I just re-scan and the storage will automatically attach? Or do I need to do something else?

Any help would be greatly appreciative...

FYI... I'm new to the Linux side of this and would really have prefered work paying for ESX with all the tools that I'm sure would make this sooo much eaiser.

Peace

--Darktan

Tags (4)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Welcome to the forums - if the storage is already been formatted as a VMFS datastore than your should simply have to bring up the new install of ESX and rescan the SAN and it should be available for use - you will not need to readd it - does it show up in your list of available datastores?

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
11 Replies
IB_IT
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution