VMware Cloud Community
msalmon1
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

root partition

I have a 5GB root partition on one of my ESX Hosts, that is at 98% full. This has caused problems with vm migration to the ESX Host due to the lack on space on the root. I am new to linux and I am not quite sure what un-necessary data can be remove from that partiton to free-up space. You assistance with this is greatly appreciated. Tahnks in advance for your response.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
mbrkic
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

A few more UNIX commands that are helpful with troubleshooting file system space issues:

In the top directory of the file system:

du -xsk * (this will give you recursive sizes of all items in the current directory)

find . -mount -size +10000000c -ls (this will show you ls -l for all files with size > 10,000,000 characters - i.e. bytes)

These two can usually help locate large space usage rather quickly.

REad man pages for du and find for more details.

Cheers,

Milos

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
AWo
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Do you have more partitions, for "/var" for example? You can check it with "mount" or better "dh -h" (shows the usage). Post it please.

Do you have some space left on you local harddisk? Maybe you have to rehome some files...

AWo

vExpert 2009/10/11 [:o]===[o:] [: ]o=o[ :] = Save forests! rent firewood! =
0 Kudos
msalmon1
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on

/dev/sda3 4.9G 4.5G 125M 98% /

/dev/sda1 198M 29M 159M 16% /boot

none 131M 0 131M 0% /dev/shm

/dev/sda5 2.0G 89M 1.8G 5% /var/log

/dev/sda2 5.0G 1.9G 2.8G 41% /vmimages

0 Kudos
AWo
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Before we're thinking about resizing partitions ore moving files, do you have any space left on accessible drives?

vExpert 2009/10/11 [:o]===[o:] [: ]o=o[ :] = Save forests! rent firewood! =
0 Kudos
msalmon1
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution