VMware Cloud Community
sencha
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

migrate from local storage to iSCSI

Hello, I have ESX 3.5 running on an HP DL360 attached locally to 1.5TB of storage on an MSA60. I am currently running 5 virtual machines and VC 2.5 as well. Everything is running great but now that I've demonstrated that VMware is a good investment, I'd like to add in a second ESX host for redundancy and to be able to use vmotion, drs and ha.

As I understand it (I am still fairly new to this) I will need to purchase some shared storage such as an HP AIO server and use software iSCSI or buy something like an HP StorageWorks Smart Array with iSCSI cards and then connect both ESX servers to the shared storage.

My question is whether it's possible to use storage vmotion to move the VMs I have on my local attached storage to the new iSCSI storage?

Any input is appreciated.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

taken from the admin guide, page 246

Storage VMotion Requirements and Limitations

Storage VMotion is subject to the following requirements and limitations:

Virtual machines with snapshots cannot be migrated using Storage VMotion.

Virtual machine disks must be in persistent mode or be raw device maps.

The host on which the virtual machine is running must have sufficient resources to

support two instances of the virtual machine running concurrently for a brief time.

The host on which the virtual machine is running must have a VMotion license,

and be correctly configured for VMotion.

The host on which the virtual machine is running must have access to both the

source and target datastores.

VMware Infrastructure 3 supports a maximum of four simultaneous VMotion or

Storage VMotion accesses to a single datastore. A migration with VMotion

involves two simultaneous accesses to the datastore, by the source and destination

hosts. A migration with Storage VMotion involves one access to the source