VMware Cloud Community
the_dud
Contributor
Contributor

how to edit struts-config.xml

I have a beginner question

I have installed the EXS 3.5 and after the installation I need to edit the struts-config.xml in order to have web access, since I am new to Linux I don't know how to edit the file, I can open the file but I don't know how to change the text, I understand that I have to use some kind of text editor.

Some help will be appreciated

Thanks

0 Kudos
5 Replies
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

To edit the file use the nano or vi editors, I'd suggest using nano due to your comment about being new to Linux as it's more friendly. Assuming you were using the "cat" or "more" or "less" commands to view the file I assume you know which directory it's in.

1. Enter the command "nano -w struts-config.xml" (with the path to the file before the filename if necessary)

2. Scroll down til you find the section that starts "scripted install handler"

3. Comment out the third line of this section by adding "<!-- " to the beginning and " -->" to the end (this is the page that normally displays showing you that scripted install is disabled)

4. A couple of lines further down there is a "<!--" on it's own, delete that whole line

5. At the bottom of the section there is a line "-->", delete that line (the lines in between the 2 deletions you have just made are the forms of the scripted installer)

6. To save and exit nano, press CTRL-X, press Y to save changes, press Enter to save and exit

7. Restart the web service with the "service vmware-webAccess restart" command

That should be it.

Scott.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog
the_dud
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for the reply,