VMware Cloud Community
uzunlu
Contributor
Contributor

how to administer domain controller on esxi 3.5 using vmware infrstructure client

Hi,

I installed vmware esxi, and i created vm of the domain controller, w03. I have vmware infrastructure client install on wxp. I am trying to figure out how to administer

the domain controller. I'm new in vm, thank you for the help.

uzunlu

0 Kudos
21 Replies
admin
Immortal
Immortal

The VI Client is for administration of ESXi. Use the console on the VI client to administer the DC vm. Or enable remote access and RDP to the DC from wherever.

0 Kudos
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal

Welcome to the Forums - as MaxMouse said you can use the console feature of the VI Client to gain access to your VM or use an RDP client and login in that way - the preferred way is to use an RDP client to access the VM -

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful
0 Kudos
uzunlu
Contributor
Contributor

Thank you, very helpful. In vmInfrastructure client, as I think you meant it is the console, I see the vm.vmdk in the datastore, but I can't see theis vm.vmdk in the vm-tab. then when rdp to it rdp can't make connection.

uzunlu

0 Kudos
admin
Immortal
Immortal

You have to use the console tab in the VI client so you can view the console of your virtual machine. From there you can log in and setup remote access as you normally would on a Windows OS.

0 Kudos
uzunlu
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks again, I think the problem is I don't have the vm in the virtual machine tab, however, I have it in the folder that I created under the Inventory section. this vm-vmdk is the clone of the windows03 dc. So I need to figure out why I can't see the -clone- vm-vmdk in the vm tab.

uzunlu

0 Kudos
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership