So when I first built my 3.02 cluster I let VM's put their vswp files in the default location (with the VMs) but now I've got them pushed to a specific portion of my SAN (that's not being replicated). I'm on 3.5 update 2 on all NFS data stores. My question is can I just delete the .vswp files that are left in the old location? I've removed on on a test server and rebooted it and the file was created in the new location. So my question is can I just delete the old files?
Are they locked if they are in use?
IN general .vswp files get removed when you shutdown VMs (there is an option to not allow this to happen). So if they exist and the VM is running I would not until the VM is shutdown and then rebooted. The .vswp should be removed at that time. If not then I would say it is safe to remove with no issues.
So yes remove if the VM is running already using the new location for .vswp.
Edward L. Haletky
VMware Communities User Moderator
Author of the book 'VMWare ESX Server in the Enterprise: Planning and Securing Virtualization Servers', Copyright 2008 Pearson Education.
CIO Virtualization Blog: http://www.cio.com/blog/index/topic/168354
As well as the Virtualization Wiki at http://www.astroarch.com/wiki/index.php/Virtualization
>>> IN general .vswp files get removed when you shutdown VMs (there is an option to not allow this to happen).
Can you please what me what this option is?
We are running into a problem when deleting vswp files during shutdown, and would like to avoid it if possible.