VMware Cloud Community
rucky
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

(add) Install ESX 3.5

Hi Guys

I would like to install a new ESX 3.5 server in our present virtual Infrastructure. We have 2 ESX's servers already configured and setup which is hosting few of our production servers.

When VMware iNf was set up i was not here, i have started recently for this company.

I would like to know how would i go about adding (installing the 3rd/4th ESX servers in our enviroment. I am going to obviously read on the installation guide and i have already watched the insallation nugget.

What are the things i need to be careful about for eg.

1. how will i format the disk (will it be same sizez etc as the previous ESX servers, how will i find out, or should i just use what the setup reccomends)

2. we have HA.DRS.,Vmotion etc, different subnet for VMware and a DELL eqaulogic SAN.

Could someone guide me please as i am quite new to this.

Regards

Rucky.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
TomHowarth
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

assuming you have the requisite licensing in place, you will need to make sure that you have a compatible CPU in your new Host, same family, do not mix AMD and Intel. different core levels are OK. if your current machines are older and now longer current, I would seriously suggest buying a pair of servers. or trawling Ebay for the same model. it will save you a lot of pain in the long run.

If you found this or any other answer useful please consider the use of the Helpful or correct buttons to award points

Tom Howarth VCP / vExpert

VMware Communities User Moderator

Blog: www.planetvm.net

Contributing author for the upcoming book "VMware Virtual Infrastructure Security: Securing ESX and the Virtual Environment”.

Tom Howarth VCP / VCAP / vExpert
Blog: http://www.planetvm.net
Contributing author on VMware vSphere and Virtual Infrastructure Security: Securing ESX and the Virtual Environment