VMware Cloud Community
nickwhite44
Contributor
Contributor

WinPE fails to load on NFS datastore

Hi all,

I had a strange experience today in our lab. I am experimenting with NFS datastores (on a NetApp 2050). I've loaded a bunch of RHEL 5.2 VMs and was moving to Windows 2003 Std. My company uses a WinPE-based boot image to load the Windows server OS and it wasn't working for me. The symptom was that the VM would start up, start loading Windows, load a bit of graphics as the background (gray), but then reboot before a CMD shell started. I'm not a Windows expert, so I consulted other sysadmins and they all felt like a disk driver was not loaded in the WinPE image causing the boot to fail. Normally what would happen is that a CMD shell would start up and I could run a variety of disk partioning, image restoration commands, but that CMD prompt never made it.

This WinPE image is the same that we use in our production VMware environment which runs on FC SAN. I was busy explaining that the VM didn't see any of the underlying hardware so that didn't matter that I was using an NFS datastore - if the LSILogic driver worked on the FC SAN, it should be working on the NFS Datastore. So I loaded a generic Windows 2003 Std x86 ISO and restarted the VM - it loaded fine. We let it go to the point where it formatted the C: partition and we powered the VM off - so now we have an NTFS formatted vmdk. Then we swapped ISOs back to the WinPE image, loaded the formatted vmdk and it booted fine - no problems.

We started talking about whether or not the vmdk was pre-allocated or not and I had to admit that it was a thin-disk on NFS. Of course the other sysadmin, who are really opposed to this NFS idea, said that's the problem. So, the next experiment was to try to load a new VM with the WinPE ISO using a local datastore (local disk to the ESX server) - It worked with no problems. So WinPE fails on an unformatted NFS vmdk, but works on a VMDK with a pre-existing filesystem.