VMware Cloud Community
MarkAllenP
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Virtualizing Active Directory - Security for AD vmdks

Hello,

I am a project manager for virtualizing some Active Directory servers. Currently they are all physical, and my approach is to build fresh VMs running Windows 2003 R2 64-bit with sufficient memory and disk space. The actual VM creation is not an issue. But what is an issue for our security people and the AD ops team is protecting the vmdk and associated files.

The current VSI (Virtual Server Infrastructure) has each VM using a LUN for the OS disk (C: drive), and another LUN for the Page file/temp files. Data files are also placed onto a seperate LUN. Now, the issue comes about since all the VMs for a single blade server (ESX host, HP BL685) are placed onto the same LUN, there will be a mix of server type files (apps, SQLs, ADs, etc.) in the data store. Meaning the C drives for all VMs on that blade are running under the same security policy.

If we lock down the datastore for AD people and other approved persons, then the normal ops support people (in a different country) don't get access to the files. Only the AD team has right to ADs and DCs, so I am trying to duplicate this security template.

So my idea is to have specific data stores just for ADs; providing one for the C: drive (SysVol, etc.) and another for the Page files. Then I can lock these down, and leave the others at their current security level.

Does this sound logical? Doable? Prefferable?

What are others doing about this issue? Or is it overkill?

Many thanks,

Mark-Allen

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
krowczynski
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

My guess is that only the AD team would ever start/stop/etc a VM, so maybe this is possible.

You can create a custom role on your vcenter and delegete permission to some users, who only will get access to some vms!

MCP, VCP3 , VCP4

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
9 Replies
krowczynski
Virtuoso