VMware Cloud Community
Sherdy
Contributor
Contributor

VMKernel cannot ping out, but I can ping in.....

Hi

I am a relvative newbie to ESX, I recently pruchased a Dell MD3000i, so embarked on configuring iSCSI. I have created a virtual switches and allocated them IP addresses with the range for my iSCSI devices

I can ping the IP addresses (in the iSCSI subnet) allocated to my VMWare switches and I recieve responses.

I can also ping the IP addresses(also in the iSCSI subnet) allocated to my 3000i from a Windows box on my network.

If I try to ping anything on the iSCSI subnet from the VMWare server quite litterally nothing happens. Sometimes after a delay I get a reply from an unknown IP informing me the the reply was filterered. Mostly nothing, the cursor just moves to the next line and sits there indefinately. I have now tried this on two Dell Servers, using the built in NIC's (one a Dell 860 the other a Dell 1850).

I am using 3.5 update 3, I have installed uninstalled a few times and followed both a couple of walkthroughs from this site.

One thing I would like to point out, during the configuration of the virtual switches it did inform me that I didnt have a gateway, well I quite simply dont have a gateway on that subnet, but all the devices are local so I cannot see how this would affect it. Like I said I am a VMware newbie, so I am not sure how the virtual switches do their thing and if this could have an impact.

Any help, pointers or guidence would be greatly appreciated, I have a brand new toy and can only make it work with my Windows boxes at the moment! )-: I so want to try Vmotion and HA for real!

Paul

0 Kudos
3 Replies
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal