Highlighted
Immortal
Immortal

VI 3.5 Update 1 upgrade experiences

I upgraded VirtualCenter 2.5.0 to 2.5 Update 1 today (using SQL Server 2005 SP2 back end).

Observations:

1. The license server installation/upgrade is still not called as part of the autorun.exe as all other VI components are (VC server, VC client, VC Update Manager, VMware Converter for VC). The license server installation/upgrade must still be performed as a separate step at the very beginning.

2. SQL back end users are no longer allowed to use the SQL Server 2003 ODBC driver packaged with Windows Server. You must now download and use the SQL Native Client driver and rebuild your DSNs using this driver. Available at: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=50b97994-8453-4998-8226-fa42ec403d17&Displa...

3. VMware took the feedback of all the database upgrade issues being had with the release of VC2.5.0. Helpful screens now guide us to the correct database upgrade permissions referencing the applicable VMware KB articles. Furthermore, if by chance you grant your VirtualCenter SQL account the sysadmin role to SQL server, the upgrade picks up on this and presents you with a warning message that a new parallel set of database tables will be created rather than upgrading the existing infrastructure. Failure to correct this situation will essentiall result in losing your datacenter after the upgrade is complete.

4. Database upgrade completed without any issues.

5. Once completed, Help|About reflects VIC and VirtualCenter versions 2.5.0 build 84767. Why not 2.5.1? Why is the incorrect build number of 84767 shown instead of what's listed on VMware's website build 84782






[i]Jason Boche[/i]

[VMware Communities User Moderator|http://communities.vmware.com/docs/DOC-2444][/i]

VCDX3 #34, VCDX4, VCDX5, VCAP4-DCA #14, VCAP4-DCD #35, VCAP5-DCD, VCPx4, vEXPERTx4, MCSEx3, MCSAx2, MCP, CCAx2, A+
0 Kudos
157 Replies
Highlighted
Immortal
Immortal

> 1. The license server installation/upgrade is still not called as part of the autorun.exe as all other VI components are (VC server, VC client, VC Update Manager, VMware Converter for VC). The license server installation/upgrade must still be performed as a separate step at the very beginning.

So does this mean the license server was upgrade with this Update 1 version? I didn't upgrade mine, but I did do a new install of VC 2.5 a couple of months ago.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Immortal
Immortal

I don't know but I'd lean towards doubtful.. I always make it a habit to upgrade it, if only to increment the build version so that it's consistent with the build numbers of the rest of the VC components.






[i]Jason Boche[/i]

[VMware Communities User Moderator|http://communities.vmware.com/docs/DOC-2444][/i]

VCDX3 #34, VCDX4, VCDX5, VCAP4-DCA #14, VCAP4-DCD #35, VCAP5-DCD, VCPx4, vEXPERTx4, MCSEx3, MCSAx2, MCP, CCAx2, A+
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Immortal
Immortal

Bug:

In the new VIC, both add on component pugins are installed, but the Converter plugin is no longer enabled (the check box is empty). Clicking the check box to enable it instantly crashes the VIC. This happens on two different machines where I've upgraded the VIC to Update 1. The log file at C:\Documents and Settings\jason\Local Settings\Application Data\VMware\vpx\ has several lines reading "Attempted to read or write protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is corrupt."






[i]Jason Boche[/i]

[VMware Communities User Moderator|http://communities.vmware.com/docs/DOC-2444][/i]

VCDX3 #34, VCDX4, VCDX5, VCAP4-DCA #14, VCAP4-DCD #35, VCAP5-DCD, VCPx4, vEXPERTx4, MCSEx3, MCSAx2, MCP, CCAx2, A+
0 Kudos
Highlighted
User Moderator
User Moderator

All hail Jason the Brave One!!!

Steve Beaver

VMware Communities User Moderator

*Virtualization is a journey, not a project.*

Steve Beaver VMware Communities User Moderator VMware vExpert 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 ==== Co-Author of "VMware ESX Essentials in the Virtual Data Center" (ISBN:1420070274) from Auerbach Come check out my blog: [www.virtualizationpractice.com/blog|http://www.virtualizationpractice.com/blog/] Come follow me on twitter http://www.twitter.com/sbeaver **The Cloud is a journey, not a project.**
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Immortal
Immortal

All hail Jason the Brave One!!!

Steve this was in the lab, not production (I'm sure you think I'm crazy but give me a little credit anyway).






[i]Jason Boche[/i]

[VMware Communities User Moderator|http://communities.vmware.com/docs/DOC-2444][/i]

VCDX3 #34, VCDX4, VCDX5, VCAP4-DCA #14, VCAP4-DCD #35, VCAP5-DCD, VCPx4, vEXPERTx4, MCSEx3, MCSAx2, MCP, CCAx2, A+
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Immortal
Immortal

We didn't have this problem... maybe something was weird with your install.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Immortal
Immortal

Ours was production.... Smiley Happy I don't mind being a guinnea pig, I thrive on it. I am the one that installs/configures the servers anyway, so if they break, I can fix them.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I ran into the crashing of the VI Client when enabling Enterprise converter as well. . .found a resolution here:

I just renamed the ssleay32.dll and then was able to get converter enabled.

For what it's worth

Jeff

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor

Jason,

I saw the same thing, I had already had 2.5.0 installed and downloaded build 2.5.0Update 1 (build 84782). I went through the entire upgrade, and restarted VC, but afterwards, help about had the 2.5.0 build number: (Build 84767) so you are not alone.

Matt

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Immortal
Immortal

Jason,

I saw the same thing, I had already had 2.5.0 installed and downloaded build 2.5.0Update 1 (build 84782). I went through the entire upgrade, and restarted VC, but afterwards, help about had the 2.5.0 build number: (Build 84767) so you are not alone.

Matt

Well in fairness, nowhere in the documentation did I see it was now 2.5.1 but I was just kind of questioning why not increment the version number to 2.5.1 instead of calling it 2.5 Update 1. The bigger issue is why Help|About shows build 84767 but http://www.vmware.com/download/vi/ shows build number of 84782?

And thanks Jeff for the suggestion about the crashing client. That indeed fixed the crashing issue. reference: http://communities.vmware.com/message/840021#840021

Jas






[i]Jason Boche[/i]

[VMware Communities User Moderator|http://communities.vmware.com/docs/DOC-2444][/i]

VCDX3 #34, VCDX4, VCDX5, VCAP4-DCA #14, VCAP4-DCD #35, VCAP5-DCD, VCPx4, vEXPERTx4, MCSEx3, MCSAx2, MCP, CCAx2, A+
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Immortal
Immortal

> I saw the same thing, I had already had 2.5.0 installed and downloaded build 2.5.0Update 1 (build 84782). I went through the entire upgrade, and restarted VC, but afterwards, help about had the 2.5.0 build number: (Build 84767) so you are not alone.

The SAME identical thing happened in VC, and I even posted it.. but no one seemed to care. There is a trend here, and it's not good.

VC 2.5 is build 64201 on the website, but it's actually 64192 (help about).

Apparently the same thing with VC 2.5 Update 1. The build does not correspond with the website, there is a miscommunication somewhere...

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Immortal
Immortal

I've posted a note on the moderators forum asking them to look into it. Agreed this is not the first time this has happened and we need more quality control on what goes on the website.






[i]Jason Boche[/i]

[VMware Communities User Moderator|http://communities.vmware.com/docs/DOC-2444][/i]

VCDX3 #34, VCDX4, VCDX5, VCAP4-DCA #14, VCAP4-DCD #35, VCAP5-DCD, VCPx4, vEXPERTx4, MCSEx3, MCSAx2, MCP, CCAx2, A+
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

So has anyone of you guinea pigs upgraded ESX to 3.5 Update 1 yet? :smileygrin:

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Immortal
Immortal

> So has anyone of you guinea pigs upgraded ESX to 3.5 Update 1 yet?

Only on 8 of our 14 machines... Smiley Wink The others are upgrading tonight.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Immortal
Immortal

I have... 2 boxes. Along with VC 2.5 Update 1.

I haven't updated the plug-ins yet... The docs say to uninstall/reinstall the VMware Converter plug-in. I'm still testing though.

My 2 little HP D530's are begging for more RAM and a break. LOL.

Jase McCarty

http://www.jasemccarty.com

Jase McCarty - Field SA @PureStorage - @jasemccarty
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I did the VC 3.5 Update 1 upgrade today (from 2.0.x) and the ESX upgrades will happen next week. . .I don't have a lab, so it will be an upgraed of one of the hosts and see how it goes. our hosts are all 3.0.x

Jeff

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Immortal
Immortal

The license server installation/upgrade must still be performed as a separate step at the very beginning.

Well that certainly was uneventfull. I did a manual upgrade of the license server, I was informed that "a an upgrade will be performed" but I don't see any change in the product or build number, copyright is still 2006. Just FYI.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Immortal
Immortal

My lab hosts are currently being managed by the Lab Manager Server so I'm holding off on the ESX upgrades for a little while.

rparker - you are a wild man with your production upgrades and I mean that in the friendliest of tones Smiley Happy Thank you for upgrading your license server even if no upgrade happened. We'll both sleep better now.






[i]Jason Boche[/i]

[VMware Communities User Moderator|http://communities.vmware.com/docs/DOC-2444][/i]

VCDX3 #34, VCDX4, VCDX5, VCAP4-DCA #14, VCAP4-DCD #35, VCAP5-DCD, VCPx4, vEXPERTx4, MCSEx3, MCSAx2, MCP, CCAx2, A+
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Expert
Expert

I've got a question (I'm running ESX 3.0.1 and VC 2.0.1 patch...2 😞

VC Release notes say:

"Upgrading or Migrating to VirtualCenter 2.5 Update 1

This release also supports upgrading from VirtualCenter 1.4.1, VirtualCenter 2.0.2 (including Update 1, Update 2 and Update 3), or VirtualCenter 2.5 to VirtualCenter 2.5 Update 1. Review the detailed upgrade and migration instructions and guidelines that are provided in the Upgrade Guide."

The upgrade guide that is linked in the above paragraph has a table (4-1) on page 50 that says

versions of VirtualCenter that are supported for upgrade:

VMware VirtualCenter Version Upgrade Support to VirtualCenter 2.5

VirtualCenter 2.0.1 Yes

VirtualCenter 2.0.2 Yes

I'm not really sure if the guide I'm reading reflects VC 2.5 Update 1, thoughts?

0 Kudos