VMware Cloud Community
james_08
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

VCB Server mapping LUNS

Hey guys,

I am the "all rounder" I.T. guy here at our School where I work at. I am employed as a tech but end up doing more than that usually. Basically I am trying to setup a Veeam 3 VCB box. I have automount disabled etc and followed the VCB guide including editing the .js config file.

When I try and do a FC backup using Veeam 3 it cannot see the ESX LUNS. The VCB box is running 1x Emulex card back to a Brocade 200e Silkworm, then to the MSA1500.

My problem is I don't know how to present the LUNS to the VCB server as I have never done this before. The Emulex card is reporting back as link UP and 4g/b.

Do I use the HBA Anywhere card software to present the ESX LUNS to the VCB Server? Or is it done via the FC Switch using the WWPN?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Im sure once I have presented the LUNS it will work OK from there.

Cheers.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
kesparlat
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Hi James_08,

First of all you have to go to your FC-SW to create a SAN zonning that connects your VCB server with your MSA. Once you've done go to your MSA1500 and create a new presentation for the Vmware Datastores to your VCB server. The LUN number must be the same to all hosts (if your Datastores LUN are 10, 11 an 12, must have the same LUN number to all the servers).

Dont forget to set 'automount disable' and 'automount scrub' in VCB server using diskpart.

Once you've done this, you will have access to your datastores from VCB server.

Regards.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Welcome to the forums - It should be done at the FC switch and I would also confirm that the no masking is done at the storage preventing the HBA from seeing the LUN -

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful