VMware Cloud Community
chrisglutz
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

VCB Configuration Help

I am new to VCB and am trying to get it setup. I am currently stuck as the VCB errors are not very helpful and I don't see any logs.

This is what I am getting when I try to use the vcbMounter command

"C:\Program Files\VMware\VMware Consolidated Backup Framework\vcbMounter.exe" -h "[virtualcenter_server]" -u -p -a ipaddr:[vm_name] -r c:\VCB_MOUNT\test\ -t fullvm

Copying "[storage1] secdoct1/Securedoc.vmx":

0%=====================50%=====================100%

Copying "[storage1] secdoct1/nvram":

Copying "[storage1] secdoct1//vmware-1.log":

Copying "[storage1] secdoct1//vmware-2.log":

Copying "[storage1] secdoct1//vmware.log":

Unsetting unknown path: /vmomi/

Generic block list error code.

Could not log out ()

Error: Failed to open the disk: Unspecified error

An error occured, cleaning up...

It looks like the process starts copying the .log, .nvram, and .vmx files and then errors out when trying to copy the .vmdk file.

Any help would be appreciated.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
CHogan
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Chris,

You will not be able to backup local disks using the VCB proxy. It is descigned for backing up SAN attached devices only. In other words, the device which holds the VM disk files needs to be presented to both the ESX server and the VCB proxy, in accordance with the tips I described earlier.

Until such a time as you have this configuration, VCB will fail in the manner you describe.

Regards

Cormac

http://cormachogan.com

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
CHogan
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Some tips on this:

1. Ensure that there is only a single path to the LUN presented to the VCB proxy.

2. Ensure that the LUN presented to the VCB proxy has the same LUN ID as that used to present the LUN to the ESX server.