VMware Cloud Community
eldingo
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Testing vmotion DRS HA clustering in a single box

Hello All:

I have a decommisioned HP proliant server I am trying to use for ESX testing/learning. What I am trying to accomplish is install atleast two ESX Servers, and Opefiler iscsi to test vmotion, DRS, and HA. I tried nesting ESX virtual machine on an ESX server and I am getting "No supported network devices found" error. Have any of you tried to accomplish all of this on a single box. Please help, I am new to vmware, and trying to learn as much as possible.

ciao

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
12 Replies
lamw
Community Manager
Community Manager
Jump to solution

First off, make sure your physical hardware is on the ESX(i) 4 HCL and all subsequent components such as network card, raid controllers, etc.

If you haven't seen this post already, this article shows how you can run ESX within ESX: http://www.vcritical.com/2009/05/vmware-esx-4-can-even-virtualize-itself/

=========================================================================

William Lam

VMware vExpert 2009

VMware ESX/ESXi scripts and resources at:

VMware Code Central - Scripts/Sample code for Developers and Administrators

VMware Developer Comuunity

Twitter: @lamw

If you find this information useful, please award points for "correct" or "helpful".

TimPhillips
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

I wouldn`t recommend you to use OpenFiler, espesially if you are just learning. OpenFiler, as all Linux and free solutions, is a little bit hard to use if you are new to it. I would you try some Windows-based solutions such as StarWind or DataCore either Lefthand. AFAIK StarWind has a free option of it`s software, which is limited about functions, but will give you general options you need to use.

eldingo
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution