VMware Cloud Community
tlyczko
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Suggestions/recommendations for server/network monitoring??

I'm looking for server/network monitoring tools to evaluate.

I want something that will monitor:

1) a few physical servers (Win2k3);

2) several ESX 3.5 hosts (later ESX 4.0);

3) HP hardware (servers, switches) and Cisco PIX/ASA

4) Applications if possible -- SQL, Exchange, SharePoint, in order of preference/likely cost

5) Perhaps network traffic just to know when there are spikes or anomalies etc.

All the above are in a server room.

I'm considering Zenoss, Splunk, Opsview (requires agents sigh), maybe Paglo.

I don't need anything super high end etc.

Goals are a good combo of thoroughness and ease of use.

I'm not a programmer etc. so out-of-box features are important.

vWire and Hyper9 is the only ESX-specific tool that may be possible cost-wise...comments on these would be helpful too.

I realize I may have to mix and match these tools to keep costs down. Smiley Sad -- that is use Splunk just a little, Zenoss just a little, etc.

Thank you, hopefully this starts a good thread.

Links to sites would be helpful too.

Thank you, Tom

0 Kudos
10 Replies
azn2kew
Champion
Champion

Sounds like you need something cheap or even free to accomplish this and as you mentioned some of them are pretty good already but have you look at Nagios, Cacti, Splunk, Solarwinds, Veeam Monitor free edition, or look at something like HyTrust, Hyper9 DNA, vWire, SCOM 2007 + nWorks MP would work great but too much money. I would look at each solution and test trial it out in a lab and decide which is the best choice for your budget or might use 2-3 types of monitoring to be totally free.

If you found this information useful, please consider awarding points for "Correct" or "Helpful". Thanks!!!

Regards,

Stefan Nguyen

VMware vExpert 2009

iGeek Systems Inc.

VMware, Citrix, Microsoft Consultant