VMware Cloud Community
dctaylorit
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

SAN Performance

This is my first time working with a SAN and also my first time working with an ESX server w/o DAS and so far it has been fairly smooth. I’ve been able to get the SAN up and running also been able to get the ESX box to recognize it and have access to the LUNs.

The question I have thus far is that I’m not sure if my performance of the SAN is going to be acceptable. I’m going to running Win2k3 machines on here and will have some higher I/O apps running down the road (1 SQL and 1 Exchange box). For the most part the rest of the machines will not have very high I/O mostly just higher processor/RAM requirements, or will be test/dev machines.

I’ve been using a Win2k3 R2 SP2 text box and running I/OMeter to try and get some hard numbers for my performance testing and thus far this is what I’ve came up with.

When running 32k block size and 100% Read – 0% Random I’ve got the following numbers (regardless of using a TOE card or using VMWare’s iSCSI software initiator).

Total I/O per Sec 1178.03

Total MB per Sec 36.81

Average I/O Response Time (ms) .8477

When running the I/O Meter All in one test I’m getting these numbers:

Total I/O per Sec 939.23

Total MB per Sec 12.04

Average I/O Response Time (ms) 1.0635

Those numbers just don’t seem to add up to me. Unfortunately I don’t really have anyone I can ask for help so if anyone has any thought I would greatly appreciate it.

My environment is as follows:

\- LeftHand Networks DL320s SAN (3.6 TB Raw – 15k SAS drives) – Both NICs are in Bridged mode

\- Cisco 3750 24 Gigabit switch (12 ports on dedicated VLAN for iSCSI traffic only)

\- 2 HP DL360G5 Servers (Only using 1 right now for testing, other is in production)

\- Each DL360 has a Qlogic QLA4050C TOE card (latest BIOS - v1.09)

\- All certified Cat6 cable connecting everything