VMware Cloud Community
psynophile
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Resource Pools Question

I'm fairly new to the VMware Infrastructure. I've read a lot of the available documentation, but I'm having a hard time getting my head around Resource Pools. I was wondering if someone could point me toward some documentation which included examples of how and why Resource Pools are used in a real-world production environment. In the meantime, if someone could answer the following questions, I'd appreciate it:

It seems to me that RPs were created to delegate resources according to how many resources an organizational unit needs. For example if a unit needs 5 machines running at 2mhz each with 2 gig of ram each, then an appropriate unexapandable RP for that unit would include 10mhz and 10gig of ram and if any machine would be created that would exhaust those resources, the machine would not be able to be started. Is that correct? If so, then how can the RP manage how many CPU mhz each machine is using? If all 5 machines were started at once, wouldn't the 10mhz limit be quickly exhausted? Would the machine be halted/shutdown? Or would the machine just run with >less< mhz?

Do RPs affect DRS or HA? How can it? Since DRS moves a machine if it's using a set amount of the resources on an ESX machine, how do RPs come into play if they are universal to the cluster?

Thank you very much

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
marcelo_soares
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

psynophile,

Pertinent questions. RPs are used at the "eral world", yes, but I've not seen too much real implementations using it. But all that I have seen, they work very well for limitation and reservation purposes. Answering your questions: