VMware Cloud Community
citlali
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Questions on ESX + UPS Graceful Shutdown Solutions

Hello everyone. I am very new to VMWare, so please pardon my newbie questions, and hopefully I have posted this in the correct location.

I am currently working as a software developer for Tripp Lite. Our SNMP-based Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) companion software product is the PowerAlert suite, and I have been given a couple of days worth of time to do more research on the possibility of supporting ESX/ESXi VMWare and server shutdown. I did some investigation of this last month, where I found the scripts by William Lam and another SSH solution ().

I understand there are a couple of scripted methods for doing shutdown, one of which is found here: . A second solution involves installing APC PowerChute via command line interface (available only on ESXi?).

The main questions I have at the moment are:

1. Can everyone install VIMA? Is a shutdown solution which installs on VIMA and runs from that platform a viable option, or is the command-line interface support a must-have for the general user-base? The VIMA Administrator's and Developer's Guide () leads me to believe that everyone can install VIMA, and that it just does not come preinstalled on the servers which ship with the console interface.

2. Can someone confirm that there is now a license issue with using lamw shutdown scripts? Any guesses as to whether or not this issue affects most users? I originally found the related comment here: . The comment was that a new revision of ESXi "may disallow write operations and require that the user purchase ESXi license(s) to make full use of the VI API (read/write)". William Lam also stated in another forum thread, "If you're using at least Foundation license or classic ESX, then this script will work. Please take a look at the documentation for further details." Which documentation specifically is meant and where could I review it?