VMware Cloud Community
AllenKyle
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Poor Performance from MSSQL after P2V

I'm a bit new to ESX and had an experienced friend of mine help me get our san/server combo up and running recently. Here's what we've got and what we've done.

2x Dell R900's. 4x hex core processors, 128GB RAM, 2x 73GB mirrored drives.

Equallogic SAN with 16x 1TB SATA drives. Connected via iSCSI using two QLogic HBA's in each server and 2 Force10 S25 Gigabit switches set to 1000 full duplex with 9000 MTU. The SAN is a single RAID50 with 2 hot spares. 2 VMFS stores were created at 1TB each. Servers were balanced across them based on size and activity. We've also set the SAN to snapshot to the servers 3x daily (which goes quick)

We've got 7 servers running across both of them.

2x Terminal Servers

1x Exchange Server

1x Database Server (MSSQL)

1x Phone System Server

2x Domain Controllers

Everything works pretty well overall. Exchange seems a little slower, but our SQL app has lost about 40% on performance. Nothing appears to be red-lined but SQL queries just seem a great deal slower. Users complain about the app freezing up when others are running large reports and such. I've been reading up on best practices for SQL in ESX but I'm finding a lot of misinformation and contradiction. Has anyone here gone through the same issue and found a solid solution for increasing performance? Any advice would be useful. Also, keep in mind that I'm a VM noob at this point, so any articles with instructions would be awesome. Thanks.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
SeanDA
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

I will try and summarise what I believe to be the most important points to look at :

• Upgrade to vSphere and use the new ParaVirtualised NICs and SCSI adapters which should improve iSCSI performance significantly.

• Create the VM from scratch - ensure vdisk for the OS is partition aligned (create partition using diskpart)