VMware Cloud Community
shrcol
Contributor
Contributor

Performance issues with ISCSI SAN

Afternoon all,

Firstly let me say that I am fairly new to VMware VI3 and am on a steep learning curve!

We have recently implemented VI3 using two Intel based (professionally custom built) servers with a StoreVault S550 SAN for storage. I am aware that hardware compatibility is important however the setup was done on a fairly tight budget and the servers had already been ordered before thier use was designated. The SAN is listed as VI compatible.

For the most part everything has been fine, however we are finding that one of the virtual machines (file server, probably the most utilized) is at times exceedingly slow to respond when opening documents from shared network drives. We have had some issues with other hosted file servers however these have been minimal. The setup of the hosts and the SAN is fairly straight forward, gigabit ethernet (cat 5) between the hosts and the SAN via a dedicated switch which then links to the main LAN. The SAN is configured as an ISCSI target for the software interfaces on the ESX hosts. Other less disk orientated VM's work fine and without issue.

Having looked at the utilization of the VM thats having the problems it seems a good percent of the time to have exceedingly high disk read times / average queue length which tells me that the speeds the host is communicating with the SAN at are poor. We have sanity checked the configuration and the comms as far as we can and are now thinking perhaps switching to dedicated fibre might be the way to go to get better speeds, however being as I am still a relative newbie to the product I don't want to go recommending costly solutions without being fairly sure of there benefit! I am also more than aware that this is a fairly complex product and am sure there are areas of tuning that could be made to gain performance increases.

Any thoughts most welcome - please say if you need further information.