VMware Cloud Community
edp2007
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

NLB with VM and Physical Server

I'm not quite sure which category this question falls under. Essentially I have 1 web server and I'm looking to be able to have a VM configured in an NLB cluster to create a fail-over for my current web server.

When I have tried to configure this, all the traffic immediately goes to my VM. I think this may be due to a RARP packet broadcast, but I'm not sure. Aside from that, the difference between processor utilization is unreal. I understand that the VM is going to have limitations I purely want the VM to act as a fail-over as a part of my DRP, but even with 2 processors and 4 GB of RAM allocated to it the difference is something like: 15% utilization on the physical box / 80 - 90% utilization on the VM.

I'm fairly new to ESX and am just wondering is there a better way to go about achieving this? Also is it unreasonable to think that the utilization on the VM should be better that the percentages above?

Also when I shutdown the VM the NLB from the physical server doesn't seem to pick up correctly and I'm basically down until I break the cluster and reset IIS, etc.

Thanks in Advance,

Ed

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
WillemB
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

The difference in performance is possible since we do not have any input on what the physical server is and what the VM settngs and platform are. Also identifying the process eating most of the 80-90% CPU will be helpful. Try sysinternals process monitor.

The smart way to do the load balancing is either DNS round-robin if you have a static html web server (i doubt that Smiley Wink).

The other smart way is to place a Cisco Content switch in front of it and configure it to load-balance with sticky-sessions.

For me MS Network load balancing is possible Physical-with-Physical and VM-with-VM.