VMware Cloud Community
virtualesxer
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

NIC error: "not a valid pnic 'vmpnic0' for teaming on portgroup"

After having added a PCI card. my ESX 3.5 server reboots to incorporate the hardware changes. So far so good. Then, when it has started again, I seem to have lost my NIC somehow. Ok, just remove the new PCI card, right? I did, figuring might be some IRQ conflict. But still, "host unreachable" in all directions.

Now, mind you, I'm very new to ESX, so I had hardly even a clue where to start troubleshouting this. But googling I found a few useful esxcfg commands, and learnt the following:

1) esxcfg-nics -l lists the Intel NIC (E1000) as 'up' and running at full speed, full duplex. So, no hardware malfuction.

2) Grepping /var/log/messages, I see errors like "not a valid pnic 'vmpnic0' for teaming on portgroup". Also, I noticed my NIC is apparently listed/configured (output of esxcfg-nics -l) as 'vmpic3'. So, I'm thinking, maybe vmware rearranged the NIC-name somehow, but not all the way (after I added another PCI card). If so, then the question is, of course, where do I go to change it back? I wouldn't begin to know where ESX stores that info. Or is there some sort of network rediscovery command to get vmware to get things right again?

Of course, the above may just have been wishful thinking on my part, but it looks like there may be an easy fix to this.

Thanks

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
depping
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

ESX indeed rearranges the vmnic names sometimes when you add a PCI Card. This can result in these kind of problems. I would suggest unloading all nics from your vswitches and re-adding them in the right fashion.I usually unplug all nics and plug them in one by one and just write down which vmnic is which physical nic.

Duncan

My virtualisation blog:

If you find this information useful, please award points for "correct" or "helpful".

View solution in original post

0 Kudos