VMware Cloud Community
shankar01
Contributor
Contributor

Module not found!!!

Hi Friends,

I am new to this technology and I want to install vmware ESX3.5 on SATA drive. But after few steps we need to select module driver but that is not working. Find the attached system config.

Please help me to resolve the issue.

Thanks-

Shankar

0 Kudos
8 Replies
shankar01
Contributor
Contributor

means I want to install esx server on SATA drive for my lab.

0 Kudos
athlon_crazy
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Perhaps your device not in VMware supported hardware check list (HCL) for ESX 3.5. Solution, get supported one.

vcbMC-1.0.6 Beta

vcbMC-1.0.7 Lite

http://www.no-x.org
thecakeisalie
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

The existing driver doesn't support ICH8, which is why you're getting "module not found" when trying to install.

This question should be posted to the Community Supported Hardware Forum (CSHWSW)

For reference, here is the list of certified [Intel SATA controllers|http://www.vmware.com/resources/compatibility/search.php?action=search&deviceCategory=io&productId=1&advancedORbasic=advanced&maxDisplayRows=50&key=intel+sata&release[]=-1&datePosted=-1&vid=&did=&svid=&ssid=&rorre=0]

0 Kudos
shankar01
Contributor
Contributor

So, what should we do next to install esx3.5 on this drive??

0 Kudos
shankar01
Contributor
Contributor

Hello Friends,

I am very new to this technology, so help me to install ESX3.5 server on my mentioned drive.

Thanks-

Shankar

0 Kudos
thecakeisalie
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi Shankar01,

I should clarify my previous post, the controller appearing in the 'device list' in your document indicates you are using unsupported hardware, as it hasn't been certified by the vendor to work with ESX.