VMware Cloud Community
vmcms
Contributor
Contributor

Manually moving SAN based VMs between ESX servers

The best answer to this question is Vmotion but I'm running "Starter" 3.5 and don't have a Virtual Center Server. If I right click on a stopped VM I don't have a Migrate or move command. I'm assuming this is a limitation of my licensing.

On my Storevault SAN there is a LUN. The LUN is an iSCSI target for one of my ESX servers. I want to accomplish the following:

Move a VM from one ESX server to another

Recover SAN based VMs in the event that one ESX server fails.

I've been moving the LUN from one ESX server to another by changing the initiator to the desired ESX server. This makes the source ESX server unhappy and confused and eventually the VI client stops updating Storage objects.

I have very little experience with Linux, ESX, or SANs. I feel like I'm working on a Swiss watch with a hammer while wearing mittens. Is there a better way to do what I'm trying to do without implementing Vmotion?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
11 Replies
juchestyle
Commander
Commander

Hey man,

So all your esx hosts can see the same storage right?

You should be able to right click on a vm and remove it, or unregister it from a host and then on the other host create a new vm but point to an existing vmdk. Not super clean but doable. Does this make sense?

Respectfully,

Matthew

Kaizen!

Kaizen!
vmcms
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks Matthew,

Both ESX servers can see LUNs hosted on the same SAN but I don't think it's possible to "share" a LUN simultaneously between two initiators. Executing "Remove from inventory" for a source VM might provide a more orderly removal of the VM from the source ESX server.

It would be nice if there was a way to remove Storage without the contents being deleted. I suspect this is limited by design for product marketing purposes.

Thanks for your reply.

0 Kudos
christianZ
Champion
Champion

Are you using the esx iscsi software initiator?