VMware Cloud Community
f1racr
Contributor
Contributor

Loss of connectivity to ESX host and VM network during backup

Hi all,

I have been dealing with this issue recently and thought it was possibly due to my bad configuration since this is my first attempt at a VI 3.5 implementation, but as I've been spending time on it, I'm convinced it's got to be something oddball, but I'm hoping you might be able to point me in the right direction.

OK I have 2 x Intel Dual Xeon 3.0Ghz Servers. Each with 8GB Ram. Local Mirrored 36GB drives to run the bare metal ESX and an Infortrend S12E - R1132-34 iSCSI SAN attached to both servers.

I am only running a total of about 8 VM's, 6 Windows 2003 Servers and 2 x Windows XP.

Now the odd part. Everything works fine during the day. I have HA and DRS enabled with a single resource pool called Production with all of the VM's inside the one pool and both of my ESX servers in the same pool. During the day the servers move around as needed and I can put each server in maintenance mode and all of the VM's move to the other server successfully, so from that I can only assume that things are as they should be as that side of things seems to work well.

I have 3 dual head Pnics in each server with only one port used on each at this point (waiting on larger switch).

Pnic 0 VM network and service console

Pnic 2 iSCSI and service console

Pnic 4 vmotion

This setup is the same on both servers. Just FYI, I recently had the iSCSI running on the same subnet as the VMnetwork and service console just for ease of initial testing and had this issue so I thought I'd move the iSCSI traffic off to a different subnet with it's own service console but it made no difference to the issue, but at least it's setup a bit more realistically now anyhow.