VMware Cloud Community
mwaterhouse
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Link aggregation (iscsi over 2 physical nics)

Hi All,

Could really do with some help if anyone could be so kind...

We have esx installed on a blade server which has two nics dedicated to iscsi, using IP hash load balancing in vmware.

within a virtual machine i have two luns mapped, one (luna) to filer 192.168.x.221, one (lunb) to a filer 192.168.x.222

If I copy a file from the vm root to luna and lunb at the same time and look at the traffic on the san switch (2*cascaded cisco 3750s) the traffic from the copy is all going over just one nic, Im a bit new to vmware and esx but since the destination is a different IP, should the traffic go through both nics instead of just one?

The san switch and two blade switches configs are attached

Any help would be much appreciated!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
kjb007
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

What you are seeing is correct. The way the load balancing will work, is for every connection or transaction, you will use one NIC. Meaning, for one source and one destination, you have one src-dst combination, which will balance over one NIC alone. When you add a second destination, a second src-dst combination, you will use a different NIC, and so on. No one src-dst combination will utilize both NICs.

-KjB

vExpert/VCP/VCAP vmwise.com / @vmwise -KjB

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
17 Replies
mwaterhouse
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

sorry, forgot to mention, theyre mapped via RDMs

0 Kudos
BenConrad
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Unfortunately, this is the expected behavior for SW iSCSI. See http://communities.vmware.com/thread/51177

Note: this is how it works on Equallogic storage and we use Qlogic iSCSI HBAs exclusively.