VMware Cloud Community
Shawnis
Contributor
Contributor

LUN Extent Expansion

Hello,

I have multiple LUNs that are grouped together through an extent into one big datastore. I am new at ESX/VI3 and found that I needed to add some more space to our big datastore.

I ended up adding space through the IBM side of one of the LUNs that is connected to the data store extent. I wanted to then have VC add this extra space to the LUN I expanded on the IBM side. When I go to do the extent I see the LUN I want to expand but get to the point of it saying that all data will be lost when it adds this extra space and stop because I am unsure if it will format just the extra space or the whole LUN and destroy any data that is already on it.

My question is for anyone who knows, will it only format the extra space I am trying to add or all data on the LUN?

Support says that it is "Supposed" to only format the free space I am trying to add but I do this at my own risk.

Any experience or help on this would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Shawn

0 Kudos
3 Replies
StartESX
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

Logically, when you add an extend, it only format the free space.

But I suggest you to do a big Lun with the size egal to the sum of your lun. Next, create an VMFS volume in this LUN, copy all data and don't use your first LUN.

Also, A good idea is to separate data vmdk and system vmdk on different lun.

0 Kudos
Texiwill
Leadership
Leadership

Hello,

You increased the size of a LUN on your SAN and now you want to access the rest of the space? Is that correct?

If this is the case, then you will need to shutdown your VMs, move them to OTHER Storage, and recreate your VMFS3. You can not grow a VMFS3 in this manner.

If you created an Additional LUN On the SAN and want to add that LUN as an extent into an existing VMFS3 then you can do this fairly easily by first rescanning the SAN using the VI CLient. Go to the LUN in question and look at its properties and use the Add Extent link...