VMware Cloud Community
micromacromonke
Contributor
Contributor

How 'safe' is consolidation of snapshot data? Backup ideas?

Hi all

(ESX 3.0.1)

Is consolidation of snapshot data a safe process? I have inherited a rather unfortunate situation:

An Exchange 2003/Win2003 guest with a 200GB data partition has 60 GB of snapshot files (multiple snapshots, 3 IIRC). There isn't a good backup of this server. There is a critical space situation on the LUN and we need that 60GB back, not to mention the fact that it is probably hitting server performance.

Can I guarantee (insofar as it is possible) that the snapshot consolidation process won't corrupt data? If not, what is the quickest way to make a complete recoverable backup of this server before I try, given that I have VCB and backupexec available, but not much free space on the LUN to play with (only 100GB). In addition I'm no ESX expert.

Is this process likely to take a while? I think I have around 4 hours of official out-of-hours time, does the consolidation need to be done while the guest is powered off?

thanks in advance for any replies!

0 Kudos
3 Replies
doctormiru
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi

First of all I would take a backup of your Exchange DB (using ntbackup or similar online agents and save it outside the VM). Stop the Exchange Information store and delete the snapshots. Consolidating 60GB can take a while, depends on your storage infrastructure.

good luck

Michael

micromacromonke
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for the reply, that's one option to consider. Smiley Happy