VMware Cloud Community
thiteshew
Contributor
Contributor

High Virtual Memory usage on ESX Server

Hi all,

One of our ESX servers is practically out of virtual memory (swap). I'm new to Linux/ESX but I used this article to do some troubleshooting: http://rimuhosting.com/howto/memory.jsp

Doint a free -m shows swap of 541 total and 540 used.

When I do a ps aux, this process is using almost 19% of memory:

root 7971 0.0 18.5 165544 49852 ? S Apr25 48:38 /opt/vmware/aam/bin/ftPerl /opt/vmware/aam/bin/ftmainrule.pl -domain vmware -a (gaddr=4/3.6[0])

This looks like some kind of perl script? I've checked one of our other ESX servers and this process isn't running at all. Can anyone please provide some insight into what this process is and what would be the best way to get some of the virtual memory back. Thank you.

0 Kudos
10 Replies
gxl24
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

The perl script is calling something for Legato Automated Availability Manager. Do you use any Legato products?

How much physical memory and how many VMs do you have running? Swap should only be used when physical mem is low. I understand this process is taking 19%, is the remaining being used by VMware?

thiteshew
Contributor
Contributor

We don't have any Legato products, as far as I know.

The physical memory seems fine. The Vi3 client shows that the server is using approximately 16 of its 32 gigs of RAM. There are 20 VMs on this server, which includes our production Exchange server, but none of the VMs seem starved for resources.

0 Kudos
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal