VMware Cloud Community
Jens_Madsen
Contributor
Contributor

Hardware monitoring - RAID - Motherboard - etc

Just installed ESX 3.5 and Windows Server 2008 on a brand new dual quad core server w/ 16GB RAM

I'm very new to ESX and I don't have much Linux epxperience.

First thing I always do on a Windows server is to install my hardware monitoring tools, however not being able to see the real hardware layer these tools to monitor heat and voltage on the motherboards and disk health on the RAID controller won't work under Windows. RAID with no notification is really not redundant. Also it would be nicve to know if the sucker is overheating.

Motherboard: Intel S5000PSL

RAID: HP Smart Array E200

What does other people do to monitor the health of their hardware??

I understand that I can probably install the monitoring software or agents in the SC console, but I can't find software specifically build for the ESX 3.5

I know that the SC is build upon Linux, but which distribution do I choose when downloading software from the mfg's (i'm running 64bit memory extensions, of course - NOT Itanium)

Also what are the pitfalls of installing other software into the SC

Thanks in andvance

Jens

0 Kudos
17 Replies
vmPUNK
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

what brand box?

there are manufacturer specific agents for esx that do the whole 9 yeards via snmp - i'm assuming that's what youre used to

ex. from hp http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=US&swItem=MTX-07...

you really only need to monitor esx as it has controll of all hw, you probably wont be installing any similar agents inside your vms

Jens_Madsen
Contributor
Contributor

I know the ESX has the control of the hardware, but ESX won't tell me if I blew a hard disk in an array or if my CPU or other areas of my MoBo is overheating or if a redundant power supply blew out.