VMware Cloud Community
eelali
Contributor
Contributor

HELP! Can ping esx server, but not instances

Hey guys,

Noob here. I'm trying to set up the ESX environment, and taking it all one step at a time. This is how I'm trying to do it:

Internet - Physical Environment (including domain), and have the instances run off of four of the physical servers but NOT as a seperate VLAN. I want the instances to act as part of the regular lan, and part of the domain that all the other non virtual/esx servers are on.

Anyways, I'm able to ping the ESX servers itself from both other servers on the network AND from the virtual instances that are off the ESX servers...and I can ping the other physical servers from the virtual instances, BUT, and this is where it gets tricky

I cannot ping or remote desktop into the virtual instances from the regular physical environment. I know this has to do with some vlan/vswitch setting...but i'm totally stuck and i haven't been able to find anything.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

0 Kudos
10 Replies
masaki
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

If you want vm to speak with the outside world you have to create a virtual network port group in a virtual switch.

Which is your vswitch configuration?

You can do it by vi client in configuration tab (click on network..)

0 Kudos
eelali
Contributor
Contributor

I believe it's the default. i see a vswitch0, and there's two instances inside a virtual machine port group. and there's a service control port. what information do u need exactly? (i didn't set this up, and my coworkers says during hte installation he only configured IPs, and that the rest of this is default settings)

0 Kudos
masaki
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Yes it's the default 1 vswitch with service console port and virtual machine network on it. which are the virtual machine port group properties (ip address pool, etc.)?

Which are the addresses of the vms?

How many physical nics do you have?