VMware Cloud Community
arndawg
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Getting a SAN from SUN. recommendations?

Anyone got any recommendations for storage from sun?

This is the first time i'm gonna set-up ESX and i've never used SAN or even NAS before.

So what is the recommendations? I don't actually need more than 2TB of storage. But in a year it might be 10TB or even more. So I need something that scales very well.

I also need the ability to easily set up replication through a 1gbit internet connection to another SAN. This is a bit in the future though.

So what's the cheapest solution that works well with Vmware VI3 enterprise?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Crowey
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Its perfectly OK - we're going for the 6540 here, but only because we were worried about the expandability of the 6140.

We've sized ours up in conjunction with Sun and VMware with specific requirements to be able to virtualise our entire server infrastructure and connect to the Sun SAN - so you should definitely be fine.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
SyverDude
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Hello,

Take a look at this.

http://www.vmware.com/pdf/vi3_san_guide.pdf

For starting out, iSCSI is an excellent way to go, However, sun's iscsi offering does not look like it supports the hardware iscsi initiator. I could be wrong but that is what the san guide is showing. This is also a fast changing area so check with Sun or vmware on this.

Does it have to Sun Storage? if not, you could take a look at the

the EMC cx3 Model 10 or 20. They allow you to start out with iSCSI for less cost infrastructure but you can grow into a full fiber channel san.

A straight iscsi solution that would not do you wrong is equalogics.

Be careful with implementing iscsi that you make sure the iSCSI solution is certified with the hardware hba's for iscsi.

Both the emc and the equalogics will allow you to grow over time.

Regards,

Jon

arndawg