VMware Cloud Community
ccondon
Contributor
Contributor

Emulex driver version

Hello, I am a newbie and hope I am posting to the correct area.

I am trying to determine the driver and firmware version of the Emulex LPe11000 we have installed on a Dell PE R710 server. This ia a fresh install of 4.1 only a few weeks old. We are running ESXi 4.1. This is not in production yet so rebooting the host is not an issue at this time.

The storage guy in our group asked me to confirm if the fc cards have the latest firmware and drivers installed so that is why I am looking. I've seen a few older posts referring to scripts to use but I am not well versed in scripts for the ESXi (just yet) and I am hoping with 4.1 maybe there is a way to view this from vCenter?

I have 5.0 CLI installed and I am trying various commands with not much success. Perhaps I should use v4.1?

Any thoughts or suggestions to help get me going in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Caryn

0 Kudos
5 Replies
ccondon
Contributor
Contributor

Well, I believe I just answered my own question after posting this. I allowed Remote Tech Support (SSH) and ran the following command:

~ # cat /proc/scsi/lp*/*

And the results are listed below:

Emulex LightPulse Fibre Channel SCSI driver 8.2.1.30.1-58vmw
EMC LPe11002-E 4Gb 2-port PCIe Fibre Channel Adapter on PCI bus 0000:05 device 01 irq 49 port 1
BoardNum: 1
Firmware Version: 2.80 (Z3F2.80X4)
Portname: 10:00:00:00:c9:b1:69:25   Nodename: 20:00:00:00:c9:b1:69:25

SLI Rev: 3
   NPIV Unsupported by Fabric
   RPIs max 512  RPIs used 1

Vport List:

Link Down
Emulex LightPulse Fibre Channel SCSI driver 8.2.1.30.1-58vmw
EMC LPe11002-E 4Gb 2-port PCIe Fibre Channel Adapter on PCI bus 0000:05 device 00 irq 41 port 0
BoardNum: 0
Firmware Version: 2.80 (Z3F2.80X4)
Portname: 10:00:00:00:c9:b1:69:24   Nodename: 20:00:00:00:c9:b1:69:24

SLI Rev: 3
   NPIV Supported: VPIs max 100  VPIs used 0
   RPIs max 512  RPIs used 4

Vport List:

Link Up - Ready: