VMware Cloud Community
ebui87
Contributor
Contributor

ESX Server with Exchange 2003 installation issue

Hi,

I'm a VMware newbie...Just started working with ESX 3.0.2 Server and installed 2x Windows 2003 Enterprise Virtual machines on a Dell 1800 server with 2 Zeon CPU, 4GB memory and 1 NIC.

one VM is used as additional Citrix Server..

the other is trying to be used as an additional Exchange Server on the network.

Citrix Server works perfectly.

The only problem i've ran into is trying to install the Exchange software...During installation wizard, it gives me an error, stating that it cannot contact Windows Active Directory...however, with both servers, i was able to join them to the domain. Ping, dns, and other diagnostics tools has confirmed that the VM can see the Domain Controller.

I tried copying the software to local folder, tried over network, but no luck.

I also tested the installation on the other VM with the citrix installation and i get the same error message. So it leads me to believe that there's something going on with the NIC config

Has anyone had similar issue?

p.s. i disable ESX firewall and no luck as well.

0 Kudos
18 Replies
CiscoKid
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Have you installed the VMware Tools on the Exchange VM Guest? If so, did you install it with the Shared Folders? If yes, remove Shared Folders and go into the registry and remove HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\hgfs. There have been known issues with shared folders feature and domain authentication. Primarily the concern has been on the AD domain controllers but I have also seen this issue with Exchange VM Guests. So as a practice I just don't install shared folders. It is a useless feature that you will never even miss. Another area of suspect is timing. Is your soon-to-be exchange server on the same time zone and is the timing synchronized? There could be a significant time drift which could cause authentication issues.

Rumple
Virtuoso
Virtuoso