VMware Cloud Community
GauranG1
Contributor
Contributor

ESX Down ! Please help

Hi,

I have a ESX which is down, the VM's are running on Shared LUN's.

1. If I install another ESX will i loose the existing VM which are there on LUNs.

2. How do i go about configuring the existing VM on the new ESX host.

I am new to ESX so please be kind to give step by step directions.

Any help would be greatly apprciated.

0 Kudos
10 Replies
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal

are all the VM's in a powered on state or powered off? What do you mean by having an ESX server down, hardware failure, what?

If your VM's are in a powered off state, they should show up in VC as disconnected. You could always browse the datastore(s) and re-inventory them somewhere else.

0 Kudos
Chris_Howard
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

I assume your LUNs are OK, and you are using an FC SAN.

If so

Build another ESX host (recommendation is not attach to SAN until built), and license it.

Connect host to SAN. Config SAN to allow access from host. (i.e. zoning, lun masking etc).

On ESX host, rescan your storage controllers for vmfs volumes.

Browse the datastores found for your VMs.

Double click the vmx files to register them.

You should then be able to start those VMs on your new host.

If you found this helpful please consider the use of the Helpful /Correct buttons to award points. Thanks !!

If you found this helpful please consider the use of the Helpful /Correct buttons to award points. Thanks !!
khughes
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Assuming that all your ESX hosts are configured the same and correctly and they all touch the "Shared LUN" as you say, you should be able to login to another ESX host, browse the shared LUN and right click the VM .vmx file and add to inventory. From there you can power back on those VMs that went down.