VMware Cloud Community
rmaccara
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

ESX 3.5 new install error

I've received this error with both 3.5 Update 1 and 2 installs. The system runs without error for a short period of time, then gets this error message:

0:16:58:39:362 cpu0:1024) VMNIX: <0> journal commit I/O error

If I log in, I get this message scrolling continuously:

EXT3-fs error (device sd(8,7)) in start_transaction: Journal has aborted

Once the error starts, I lose the host (not responding) in Virtual Center.

I've got two brand new identical Dell R805 boxes and the error only happens on one of them. They are both connected to a new Dell iSCSI MD3000i box.

I'm very new at this and don't know where to start to hunt this error down (other than searching unsuccessfully for others that have had the same problem).

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks,

Rob

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Craig_Baltzer
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

I think you're on the right track looking at the hardware or hardware configuration; there really isn't anything in the installation that you can do if you're following through with the partitioning defaults to cause something like this...

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Craig_Baltzer
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

This looks like one of the disk volumes is having errors. The error is coming from the EXT3 file system, so that points to whatever set of disks you have installed ESX 3.5 on (as opposed to VMFS volumes you've created on the SAN to store your VMs). Prob. the best bet is to check for any bad drives (i.e. something with a red light on it), confirm the appropriate controller settings, BIOS and firmware releases (i.e. matches your other machine that is working), and then look for some kind of "disk exerciser" to stress the disks and verify that they're working correctly over an extended run (i.e. run the utility for 72-96 hours straight).

Karunakar
Hot Shot
Hot Shot