VMware Cloud Community
ms_1316
Contributor
Contributor

ESX 3.5 Hangs on ProLiant ML370 G3

Hi All,

I'm still pretty new to ESX, but I'm getting quite into it quite a lot at work so thought I'd buy a second hand ProLiant ML370 G3 to get some practise in.

As you may be aware, the ML370 is on the VMWare approved list (the reason I bought it) with BIOS dated 4004-09-15. This is running and after some playing around I have ESX installed. I initially ran into issues because by default, the BIOS did not have an OS set and was also not booting with Full Table APIC. Once I had done a bit of research I got ESX loaded and breathed a sigh of relief.

The problem I'm now having is that ESX hangs at random points. My first task was going to be to mount a Windows share and clone across a VM from my laptop. I've opened the firewall for SMB access, mounted the share and started pulling a VM base image across. The concept is sound; I've done it at work on an HP DC7100 desktop but it just seems to hang at home. I can't ping the machine once it's gone, and am forced to do a cold reboot.

Any advise on what the problem could be would be appreciated as I'm really at a loss. The BIOS has been adjusted so that most things are disabled but I can't believe that this is the issue since ESX does install with no problems. I've tried twice tonight to clone this VM, and once it hung at 39% and just now 14%. There seems to be nothing I can do; the system just freezes and I need to do a cold reset.

Could this be hardware? I've not played around with the memory or disks yet as I'm waiting for some new ones. The problem is, I really don't want to shell out if it's something else. At the moment I have a very heavy paperweight server!

Thanks in advance...

Matt

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Roy_b2Lateral
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,