VMware Cloud Community
bigdogbts
Contributor
Contributor

Dual Quad Cores not visible to host OS

I'd like to preface this question by stating that I'm a newbie to the realm of VMware, so I'm hoping that someone can point me in the right direction. I work for an architecture firm, and we're looking at the VDI environment to help take some strain off our rendering environment. We'll be using a Dell T5400 workstation that is configured with dual intel x5450 xeon processors. We've configured ESX server, and have installed XP x64 as our test platform (we need 64 bit so that we can access more than 4G of ram for Revit). HERE'S THE PROBLEM: ESX server sees all 8 cores on the 2 seperate Xeon processors, but when setting up Windows, XP only sees 2 cores (instead of 8). According to all the reading I've been doing, if XP was installed directly on top of the hardware, it would see all 8 cores, but for some reason, when running it on top of ESX, it only sees 2 cores (as 2 logical processors). Any ideas?

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
8 Replies
RDPetruska
Leadership
Leadership

Moved to ESX 3.5 forum.

0 Kudos
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal

Welcome to the fun world of virtualization - now to answer your question - No, the operating system will only see the number of virtual cpus you assign to the vm - so if you assign only two virtual cpus it will only see two virtual cpus - now where do those vcpus run - they can run on any single core - so your vm running Revit will only run on 2 out of the eight total cores - the most virtual cpus you can assign will be 4 -

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful
0 Kudos
bigdogbts
Contributor
Contributor