VMware Cloud Community
jtonic
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Details: you do not have permissions to login to the server

Hi Everyone,

I am new to VMWare Infrastructure and ESX Server. I just got my licenses and downloaded ESX 3.5 today. The install went fine on a new HP DL380 (G5). I logged in to the server using Infrastructure Client 2.5 and the root account. I updated the server with my license and created a new user account. My problem is when I go to log in to the server with any new created account I get the error:

vmware infrastructure client could not establish a connection with server

Details: you do not have permissions to login to the server

I can use the new user accounts and log in to the terminal just fine but can not use the infrastructure client. I have checked the documentation and the KB as well as done a Google search but nothing addressing this problem turns up. Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Jon

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
petedr
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

From the VIC is the user in a group that has Read-Only permission. You can check which groups have the permission on the Permissions tab and also add permissions to groups from that tab. Without the Read-Only permission in VIC I believe you get the 'No permissions to login error'.

www.thevirtualheadline.com www.liquidwarelabs.com

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
10 Replies
khughes
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

I'm not sure about everyone else, but when I log into the Virtual Center server, I use my domain account (admin) which gives me access to login. From there you can address other users logins to the VIC. Have you tried logging into the Virtual infrastructure client (VIC) with either a local or domain admin account?

logging in using the client for root is usually just used to access the hosts/ESX servers (at least what I was taught)