VMware Cloud Community
gmatteson
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Dell Powervault 220s Backend Storage

I have two dell servers configured in cluster mode for access to a dpv220s. i have two of these setups, one works great, the other one i just finished installing and received the following error when bootting up the second server into the backend storage.

vmbha2:0:0:1 may be a snapshot: disable access. see resignaturing in san config guide.

For ESX servers sharing and seeing the same LUN. do they mean that the vmfs3 storage must have the same scsi/device ID? e.g. vmhba1:0:0:1 on both servers? i would assume this was the case but on my first (esx powervault cluster) these are different, server one see's the pv as vmhba:2:0:0:1 and server two sees it as vmhba:3:0:0:2.... can someone explain this to me? i am new to the 'backend' storage sharing... Thanks!!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
christianZ
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

I have two dell servers configured in cluster mode

for access to a dpv220s. i have two of these setups,

one works great, the other one i just finished

installing and received the following error when

bootting up the second server into the backend

storage.

vmbha2:0:0:1 may be a snapshot: disable access. see

resignaturing in san config guide.

I'm afraid your system (dpv220s) isn't supported and therefore you can maybe attach one host to it but by 2 hosts you gets the error because the 2 hosts couldn't share the same lun (lun id must be the same).

In addition I saw this error on my raid controller (perc) and after fw update the error went away.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
christianZ
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

I have two dell servers configured in cluster mode

for access to a dpv220s. i have two of these setups,

one works great, the other one i just finished

installing and received the following error when

bootting up the second server into the backend

storage.