VMware Cloud Community
dysatguy
Contributor
Contributor

Deleting Old Snapshots

Figured I should start my own thread instead of hijacking the other one.. Sorry Here is a brief history and my problem.

Hello, was wondering if someone could answer a question related to the Delete Snapshots. Since I am new to the VM World and of course have not got any great training thus far on our production ESX 3 server, I created a snapshot before doing an update to our blackberry server that is virtualized. This was a few months ago. I didn't realize that leaving the snapshot not only hampers the performance but can be a problem when deleting them after an extended period of time. I did this and this morning I started the delete of the old snapshots. After the first 15 minutes of Inprogress deleting the snapshot I started to do some reading from people on the forum talking about how this could take hours. To make a long story short my current status is that the snapshot is still committing (I think) but I am not able to log back into the VMWare Infrastructure Client. The message I get is server is taking too long to respond. The other Virtual machines are still running but I cannot get into the client to see the status. I don't even know how big the snapshots on this particular virtual machine are. I guess my question is, is it normal to not be able to get into the client when this process is running (I cannot get into the Http interface either). Next question if the process finishes will I be able to get into the interface again or is there a process I should be restarting. Thanks for your help.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
PaulSvirin
Expert
Expert

Try these recipes:

Maybe they will be helpful for you.

---

Paul Svirin

StarWind Software developer ( http://www.starwindsoftware.com )

--- iSCSI SAN software http://www.starwindsoftware.com
dysatguy
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Paul,