VMware Cloud Community
JCS725
Contributor
Contributor

DRS and Resource Pool Advice Needed

I've been running ESX for almost 3 years now and just now want to enable DRS. My servers are getting populated enough where I think it will help.

I've setup 4 freshly loaded ESX 3.5 u3 (fully patched as of this morning) servers and created a cluster. I've set the cluster to be fully automated.

These boxes are only going to host production guest VM's. All CPU and Memory should be available for them.

Between the 4 boxes I have 70,865 MHz and 117,148 MB of memory.

How should I set this up?

Thanks for any advice.

0 Kudos
19 Replies
Jasemccarty
Immortal
Immortal

What's the breakdown of the guest types?

OS's? Workloads? etc?

Jase McCarty

http://www.jasemccarty.com

Co-Author of VMware ESX Essentials in the Virtual Data Center

(ISBN:1420070274) from Auerbach

Please consider awarding points if this post was helpful or correct

Jase McCarty - @jasemccarty
0 Kudos
JCS725
Contributor
Contributor

85% Windows

15% Linux

My ESX Hosts average 40% CPU and maybe 30% memory useage.

0 Kudos
Jasemccarty
Immortal
Immortal

Hmmm...

85% Windows (all the same build?)

15% Linux (all same distro?)

Jase McCarty

http://www.jasemccarty.com

Co-Author of VMware ESX Essentials in the Virtual Data Center

(ISBN:1420070274) from Auerbach

Please consider awarding points if this post was helpful or correct

Jase McCarty - @jasemccarty
0 Kudos
JCS725
Contributor
Contributor

Sorry no,

The Windows servers are

90% Windows 2003 ( most are sp2 but we have some that can't be patched)

5% Windows 2000 (SP level varies)

5% Windows 2008

Of the windows servers I would say 50% has a DB of some type on it. The rest are application, file or web servers.

Linux Servers are split 50 / 50 AS4 and AS5.

0 Kudos
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal