VMware Cloud Community
SBaldridge
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Configuration questions - Dell ESX Server

I am planning two new 3.0.2 ESX servers and I hoped to get comments from the experts in this forum.

Proposed systems (two identical)

-Dell PE6950 32G RAM, 3.0ghz quad dual-core, two 15k drives RAID1 for ESX o/s.

-Some ordinary Intel Pro gig nics.

-Each server will have two QLA4052C iSCSI HBA (on VMWare HCL).

-Servers will connect via iSCSI to our NetApp SAN already in production w/ other ESX.

Questions:

1. I thought we'd need two iSCSI HBA (per server) to avoid a single point of failure. Thoughts?

2. I'm new to iSCSI HBA, will ESX see these as ordinary nics in my Configuration>Network adaptors and can they be teamed for redundancy and performance as I do with my other ordinary gig network interfaces?

3. I intend to use both servers for VMotion, VM H/A. Thoughts or experiences with PE6950s?

Thanks in advance! I'll be at VMWorld so I hope to learn a lot there.

Cheers,

Scott

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
christianZ
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

We have here PE6850 with 2 QLA4050 iscsi hba each - remember the only supported iscsi hba is the 405x - only PCI-X.

Esx sees these as scsi controllers and correct you need 2 for redundancy (max. 2 are supported).

Max. 2 means 2 X 4050 or 1 X 4052 \!!!

Message was edited by:

christianZ

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
christianZ
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

We have here PE6850 with 2 QLA4050 iscsi hba each - remember the only supported iscsi hba is the 405x - only PCI-X.

Esx sees these as scsi controllers and correct you need 2 for redundancy (max. 2 are supported).

Max. 2 means 2 X 4050 or 1 X 4052 \!!!

Message was edited by:

christianZ

0 Kudos
SBaldridge
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution